CILT's Annual Awards for Excellence 2016 winners revealed - CILT(UK)
You are here: Home > News > Latest News
























CILT's Annual Awards for Excellence 2016 winners revealed 500 of the UK’s leading professionals in logistics, transport and operations gathered at the Lancaster London Hotel last night for The Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport’s Annual Awards Dinner.

CILT’s Annual Awards are designed to recognise achievement and to encourage the highest standards and a professional approach to the practice of logistics, transport and operations.

Hailed as one of the best networking events of the year, this year’s Awards were attended by finalists, sponsors, members and their guests and the Institute received a record number of entries for 2016.

The event was chaired by CILT President Will Whitehorn, and hosted by TV presenter Naga Munchetty.
There were a total of 16 categories presented on the night and CILT’s President Will Whitehorn presented the Awards to each winner.

Kevin Richardson, Chief Executive, CILT, said: ‘Our Awards recognise those individuals and businesses who demonstrate a significant contribution to the development of our profession and sector. We received an overwhelming amount of quality entries this year and our judging panel had the difficult task of choosing this year’s winners. Congratulations to all of our winners and finalists for 2016. It is great to see and celebrate so many innovative and pioneering projects in our profession.’

CILT’s premier award for outstanding achievement, the Sir Robert Lawrence Award, was presented by John Boulter, Managing Director, DHL Supply Chain to Professor Alan Braithwaite, Chairman, LCP Consulting.

Other winners on the night included: Jaguar Land Rover, Reading Buses, UPS, Transport for Greater Manchester and Argos.

The winners of the CILT Annual Awards for Excellence 2016 are:


McKibbin Research Foundation Award
Sponsored by Bisham Consulting
Amy Harhoff, Transport for the North

Journalist of the Year
Sponsored by DP World
Paul Clifton, BBC

Student of the Year
Sponsored by Michael Page 
Lisa Sweeney, Atlantic Container Line

Young Manager of the Year
Sponsored by Hays Recruitment
Joshua Start, Wilson James

Freight Transport Best Practice
Sponsored by FORS
Jaguar Land Rover

Passenger Transport Best Practice
Sponsored by XPO Logistics 
Swansea University and First Cymru

Warehouse Operations
Sponsored by Toyota Material Handling (UK)
Culina and General Mills

Information Management
Sponsored by Tachograph Analysis Consultants Limited (TACL)
Labyrinth Logistics Consulting Ltd

Development of People
Sponsored by Fleet Source
Reading Buses 

Operations Excellence
Sponsored by Bis Henderson
Auto-Rescue Logistics

Transport Policy and Planning
Sponsored by AECOM 
Transport for Greater Manchester

Supply Chain Innovation
Sponsored by BT Supply Chain 

Andrew Drewary Consultancy and Owen Groups UK Limited

Environmental Improvement
Sponsored by The Environmental Network 
United Parcel Service (UPS)

Vulnerable Road Users Safety
Sponsored by Transport for London 
Hertfordshire Road Safety Partnership

Sir Robert Lawrence Award
Sponsored by DHL Supply Chain 
Professor Alan Braithwaite

Number of views (8643)


Theme picker


Registered Office:

Earlstrees Court, Earlstrees Road, Corby
Northants, NN17 4AX
Main Switchboard: 01536 740100

Company Registration Number: 2629347 
(A Company Limited by Guarantee)
Charity Registration Number: 1004963

© The Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport